Void of vocabulary

Are you ready to continue kicking the arse out the explorer theme? I sure am. After writing my last blog I had a Longfellow moment where it and my Japanese music blog played two ships passing in the night as I thought to myself about the importance of lyrics in music. I’ve often not put too much stock in lyrics in music as I like to focus on the instruments and as such I’ve looked at music which is void of vocals and music in foreign languages. Is it possible to derive purpose and meaning from music when we don’t have a lyricist beating us over the head with clever metaphors about love and death?

Making humble instruments otherworldly (Caspian's pedal board)
Making humble instruments otherworldly (Caspian’s pedal board)

As mentioned in my previous blog I’ve had a long standing love of all things post-rock ever since an eccentric hipster friend told me Godspeed You! Black Emperor would change my music taste for the better, and it certainly helped bolster it. The almost painfully slow build up with the repetitive nature of minimalist music creates such a hauntingly beautiful atmosphere perfectly encapsulated in Hammock’s music which completely negates the void left by the lack of vocals and the massive crescendo you often find in the likes of Caspian’s music evokes such passion that words would almost ruin the thundering climax that took so long to build. The lengths these bands go to in order to create sprawling sonic landscapes fills the space of even the most talented vocalist.

What if the vocals are there and you just can’t understand them, surely that’s a massive hindrance? You may lose out on some of the meaning of the song but having been a massive Sigur Rós fan you understand that the voice is just another instrument and the melody is the key to enjoying it which Belgian artist Stromae also displays in his flow.

discovery-playlist

